Last gasp

7 Jul

A little melodramatic but not far off the truth of the first run…

A little background; I had ACL reattachment a few years back, and I was doing well to get walking again at first. I was surprised to find it was almost as if I had forgotten how to run. Not jog-run, I mean get-out-of-the-path-of-a-car run. Trot, even. Some part of it was physiological, and some part mental.

So as I take off and my lungs start burning and I discover the impact of the 70-odd pounds added since my last 5k back in grad school, I’m wondering about the knee. Still do, actually, a day later. But the story of that first run was the gasping for breath. Seemed like forever to get around a half-dozen blocks, including a couple walking stretches.

But it’s done, I made it around. It gets easier, i hope. It has to. 15 days to the so-called “fun run”.

One Response to “Last gasp”

  1. nj criminal lawyers July 1, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

    Admiring the time and energy you put into your blog and detailed
    information you present. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the
    same unwanted rehashed material. Excellent read!
    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

